Ready, Set…Cook!

“I am thankful for the mess to clean after a party because it means I have been surrounded by friends.” 

Nancie J. Carmody

By now, you might be deep into your Thanksgiving dinner preparations, and maybe your Black Friday shopping plans to! Last night after Jaden went to bed, we seasoned and stuffed our turkey and tomorrow I’ll bake desert. We always strive to enjoy and relax on Thanksgiving day rather than spend hours on the kitchen. In the spirit of the upcoming Holiday I will share with you some of my favorite recipe’s for the weekend. I have tried them all and I can say they are keepers and worth your 5 to 20 minutes of prep time, so, if you get tired of Turkey sandwiches, soups, casseroles, etc. give them a try!

Breakfast: Quiches to Go

4d978e42a7b6ada98fcf3113ec84e0ef

If you are thinking: “Not another quiche!” you gotta’ try this simple recipe, the great thing is you can make it in advance and leave it in the fridge for a couple of days. Trust me, it takes about 5 minutes to prepare and you’ll love it! Plus, you probably have everything you need on the fridge already!

Side Dish: Crashed Roasted Potatoes

asd

This is actually one of our sides for Thanksgiving this year. My husband has to have roasted potatoes on his Thanksgiving Menu even at the expense of Sweet Potatoes! I know… so sad! (I really wanted sweet potato casserole this year!) Anyways, this is very simple: boil, crash, season & roast! Yummy!

Comfort Food: Carrot Soup

e3ea9bcb91448eaa505cacbe72bf9526

I was a skeptical when it came to carrot soup, coming from Puerto Rico we really don’t include this type of dish on our dinner table. Why? well, we mainly fill our table with let’s just say lot’s of starchy food!! My husband in the other hand (being half British) loves this type of meal, so I gave it a try and I will tell you I’m in love! Its creamy (without the need of cream!), healthy and easy to make. And though it is filling, it is soothing as well, definetily comfort food, and who doesn’t need comfort food after Thanksgiving or Black Friday?!

Desert turns into Snack: Caramel Apple Oatmeal Cookies

084ec3d93dbda243c72587600893ace1

They might sound heavy and overly sweet but these are surprisingly great! I will tell you that I added the Caramel bits “to taste” (more like 1/2 a cup rather than 1.5 cups), and I think that made the difference. They where just perfect with just the right amount of sweetness! Out of all these recipies , this one would be the most time consuming, about 15 to 30 minutes.


I wished I could have added a Real Pumpkin Spice Latte recipe for this cold weekend (it would have gone perfectly with those cookies!), but I can tell you that so far I’ve tried 3 different recipes and let’s just say they’ve all ended up on the sink. I haven’t given up yet, I’m still searching, I have another recipe pinned on my fridge, we’ll see how that goes! Have a great Thanksgiving  surrounded by those you love and enjoy the Season!!

“Not what we say about our Blessings, but how we use them is the true Measure of our Thanksgiving” 

W.T. Purkiser

Leave a Reply

